The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing.Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, online shopping has become a phenomenon that is predicted to be a preferred method of buying products in the long run and may replace traditional stores. In my opinion, I partly agree with this statement as purchasing items from the Internet may be more ubiquitous in consecutive decades, traditional shops still play a pivotal role in society. I shall put forth some ideas to exemplify my points in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, with the advancement of technology, the shopping experience has become more convenient and flexible to busy customers as they can access the information of various goods through websites of producers. Moreover, buyers can also read feedbacks from previous users about the products that they are keen on and make better decisions. With the development and effective collaboration between producers and delivery corporations, consumers now can purchase international products which will be delivered to their front door within a few working days. The emergence of conglomerates such as Amazon or Alibaba has captivated numerous young buyers and become competitors of many local businesses. On the other hand, while going to traditional markets may be time-consuming, many adults or senior citizens may find it interesting as these markets bring an exciting and cosy ambience to these shoppers. In fact, numerous people in Vietnam consider this a great occasion to relax, socialise and make new friends as while housewives are busy purchasing and bargaining goods, their husbands are keen on waiting in coffee shops and having a chit-chat with others. Nevertheless, the atmosphere of the traditional market is often busy and fantastic on holidays like the Lunar New Year and this is something that can not be experienced when purchasing through the Internet. Last but not least, when visiting physical stores, consumers can actually touch and try items before they decide to buy while shopping online may not provide such opportunities. In conclusion, while I tend to believe that online businesses may attract more customers in the future due to the convenience, more shoppers may choose to visit traditional markets on special occasions.