The best way for the government to solve traffic congestion is to provide free public transport 24 hours a day and 7 days a week. Do you agree or disagree?

While it was considered by some that offering free public transportation in a week is the most effective way for the authorities to resolve the traffic congestion, I disagree with this method to improve the problem, and it would cause some associated drawbacks. Providing cost-free mass transit would lead to several potential problems. One of them is the financial burden on the government and the mass transit companies if serving the free tickets to the passengers. Without the earnings from the commuters on public transit, the authorities have to deal with the balance between the cost of public transportation and the other multiple funds required in the society. Secondly, I think those car commuters is the main reason for the traffic problem. The people who drive their personal vehicles to work generally only appear in the morning and evening, which becoming the rush hour and might occur the traffic congestion frequently. Therefore, offering free 24-hour mass transit would be a waste of resources. On the other hand, owing to the free cost of transportation, the increasing number of commuters can be seen in the bus stations, resulting in the overcrowded phenomena. Likewise, the more people taking public transportation such as the buses, the MRT and the trains, the dirtier and more uncomfortable environments will become. To sum up, I consider that the policy of free mass transit is not the best method in dealing with the traffic congestion, which might turn out some consequent problems.