In many countries, a small number of people earn extremely high salaries. Some people believe that this is good for the country, but others think that governments should not allow salaries above a certain level. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

All over the world, a tiny group of people make high financial gains. While a part of society thinks this is necessary, others feel that the government should limit it to a certain ceiling. Jobs in areas such as public service, banking and advertising are generally better paid. Some people would point out that these jobs are essential for society, and, as those positions are usually filled with the best people, with good curriculums, also they should be well recompensed. It is said that people with good skills have spent enormous effort and money on education and should be fairly rewarded. On the other hand, there are those who say high salaries do not mean that high values are been delivered to society, and there should be some regulation to apply some ceiling to remunerations. I agree with this statement because we have many jobs that are essential to our society and that delivers good value to it. Although the high paid positions are usually occupied by well skilled persons, that does not mean society will be benefiting from those work. Related to this, we can mention the 2008 subprime crisis, which origin was in the heart of the financial system, where CEOs, analysts and consultants were paid millionaires wages, and still they led the economy to a very bad situation with millions of unemployed people. In summary, we are living in a society where a small number of workers take home huge amounts of money, and there are those who agree with this situation. However, governments should apply some limit to remuneration because high paid jobs does not mean high value delivered to society.