Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara Desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for the tourist who visit such places? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

Tourists nowadays are developing new routes, where they could conduct adventures and experience totally different lifestyles. Both advantages and drawbacks can be seen in this behaviour. Firstly, people are able to see the abundance of natural resources including lands, deserts and water bodies, all of which could hardly be seen in daily life. Thus, they are aware of the diversity of nature by field trips. Secondly, inhabitants in special areas could increase their incomes by treating out-comers. The locals don't have to depend on agriculture or fishing solely and have multiple revenues. Thirdly, stepping into unusual places are necessary for humans to have better understandings of the planet and do specific researches to make breakthroughs. For example, many marine scientists and biologists are conducting specific experiments in the Antarctic. Conversely, many negative influences are shown. With the large number of visitors, whose behaviours possibly post threats to the environment seriously. For instance, accidental and deliberate dumping are both serious to the water cycle. People drop litter and thus contaminate water systems by transferring pollutant particles through the water table into aquifers, water bodies and oceans. What's more, animals may be disturbed by humans. They may disappear and lead to dwindling numbers even extinction in the frequent-visited area, which has already happened in Asian tigers. To sum up, people are able to experience natural diversity and make scientific researches while their behaviours may post threats to the ecosystem badly.