In the modern world, it is possible to shop, work and communicate online and live without any face-to-face contact with others. Is this a positive or negative development?

The internet has changed the way people live and interact with each other massively as we are now able to go shopping, work and communicate online effectively. While there are various positive aspects of this trend, there are also negative impacts due to the lack of face to face contact between people. We have been experiencing the benefits of the Internet in recent decades, especially during the quarantine period for Covid-19. Just by staying home, people can buy anything they want, talk to any people regardless of the distance between them, schools and business companies are able to continue without any interruption thanks to the Internet. In that way, a lot of times for commuting are saved, emissions from vehicles are cut down and most life activities are progressing smoothly. It is undeniable that this invention has made a major contribution to the development of our modern society. However, the Internet still has its downsides and these drawbacks are also so significant that need to be aware of. The more people rely on those online platforms, the little time that they spend in real-life socializing. Gradually, these people will lose the ability to communicate physically, so it begins so hard for them to start meeting friends, talking and sharing their up and down stories with each other. This condition lately might result in some psychological issues like autism or depression due to the long time that they have been isolated from society. Many colleagues working in a team for almost a year but have not ever met in real life so that the connection between teammates are hard to strengthen, then the working productivities could be affected. Besides, there are situations that many shopping centres are closed down due to low visitors because of the popularity of digital shopping. This tendency may pose a potential risk to social life and the economy. To sum up, I agree that lives are much easier and convenient with the assistance of the Internet. However, we should control the balance between virtual and physical interactions to minimize the downsides of this invention of the century.