Consumers are faced with increasing number of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think are consumers influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect it?

It has been observed that organizations these days are flooding newspapers, television by advertisements in order to survive in this bottleneck competition. Indubitably it has profound impact on people’s lives both positively and negatively. In my perspective, it has majorly adverse effect owing to not only promotion of throwaway culture, but also creation of financial strain. This essay will shed some light over deleterious effects as well as pragmatic strategies to ameliorate this exacerbating practice in upcoming paragraphs. To embark with, owing to inevitable bombarding of marketing, end users are encouraged towards throwaway society. Since, manufacturing concerns want to survive in this cutting edge era,they tend to mislead the audience either by providing false claims or by getting their brand endorsed by figureheads, renowned personalities, celebrities and sports persons. Consequently, household budget of middle class families is disturbed as they are most likely to overspend on these items without analyzing their effectiveness. An exemplification of this could be, as per a study conducted by Canada University, 7 out of 10 advertisements telecasted on television are deceiving in nature and creates financial stress on consumer’s mind. A number of initiatives can be taken to attenuate the deteriorating effects of adverts. The most effective step should be close monitoring of products which are to be launched in the market by marketing regulatory body, who will inspect the item and its features so that consumers are not misguided. Adverts containing liquor or any dangerous stunts should be completely banned as youngsters tend to imitate these activities. Besides this, before purchasing any product, individuals ought to do some research from distinct sources to know about the genuineness of what they are acquiring instead of getting swayed by the influence of their superstar. To conclude, it can be asserted from aforementioned arguments that although advertisements have certain limitations in the form of encouraging consumerism and adding monetary stress, there are a couple of efficacious measures like proper screening of products to check the features so that general public can be saved from falling prey to this trap.