Some people believe charity organizations should only offer help to people of their own countries. Others claim that these organizations should give aid to people in great need wherever they live. Discuss both opinions and tell which side do you agree?

According to some societies, charities should help only those people who live within their national boundaries; however, others opine that they should provide assistance everywhere. In my opinion, it depends on the mission of the organization and its resources. Well-funded charities can offer help everywhere; those that are short of resources should prioritize their own community. On the one hand, if NGOs decide to serve only the people of their country, we cannot quite blame them. After all, their resources come from the local people and as such when this money is utilized for the benefit of the locals, it is fully justified. Charitable work focusing on local issues also satisfies donors who are eager to see a resolution to the problems affecting their country or community. Also, many charitable organizations have limited resources. For example, charities operating in poor countries are often short of resources. They cannot provide help abroad. If they attempt to do this, they will only antagonize the local community that funds their initiatives. On the other hand, there are many international organizations flush with cash and other resources. For instance, UNICEF is an international organization that aims to aid children worldwide. They receive funding from affluent countries and hence they are quite capable of offering assistance in any part of the world. There are several such organizations that have the backing of developed countries. It is their moral and constitutional responsibility to provide assistance to the needy public everywhere. To conclude, funds should work with the objective of helping the needy. Whom they should help or where they should provide help depends on their financial situation and objectives.