Nowadays, more people would rather purchase food, than cook at home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

It is undeniably true that at this age people are inclined towards dining outside rather than cooking at home. The positive side of eating outside is it saves time however it also brings some drawbacks such as unhealthy foods and in some cases, it will cost more. The significant advantage of eating outside is less time -consuming. To elaborate, due to busy in office work many people do not have time to buy vegetables from the market and cook meals at home. Therefore, they often order food outside in order to save time. For instance, the Jakarta Post article in early 2019 revealed that 80% of dual working couples residing in Jakarta prefer to consume instant meals as it is easy to make by just following simple 2-3 steps mentioned on that product. This has resulted in saving time and continuing their business. The unavoidable drawback to this lifestyle is that it is not as healthy and nutritious as eating a home-cooked meal. This is because foods that are purchased mostly use more chemicals and additives, which helps to preserve food for the longest time, whereas, food made at home can be prepared instantly according to ones’ own taste of salt and spices. The same news reported in Jakarta Post stated that the majority of employed full- time workers opted for processing food and this has resulted in not having enough vitamins and nutrition in their daily health and also, weaken their immune system. In conclusion, everything has pros and cons. Dining outside helps people save time, but it does lack nutrients. Whereas, the home-cooked meal is fresh and has great nutrient value, though it requires more time to prepare.