More and more people are using the Internet to do their tasks rather than doing in person. Does the advantage of this trend outweigh the disadvantage?

It is impossible today to imagine a world without the Internet. It enables us to do things that only a few years ago would have been unthinkable, and reaches every facet of our lives. As a result, daily tasks and business transactions can be performed without meeting other people, in person. This practice certainly has more positive effects on the individual and the society as a whole. The availability and application of modern devices and tools of communications like Fax machines, telephone, interactive TV and computer have brought tremendous convenience and efficiency to both life and work, Thanks to telecommunications, undoubtedly, e-shopping and e-banking have made life more convenient than ever before. People can stay home comfortably, looking on the Internet where a vast sea of information is available to find what they need. They log on to the relevant websites and look for detailed information on the products and services that they are interested in. They read the descriptions, examine the pictures, and check the prices. Eventually, they make a decision and send an e-mail to order and pay for it by e-banking. All can be done at home, without scanning newspaper advertisements, reading reference print materials, going around downtown as they had to do before. As a result, they have more time to take part in social activities, pursue hobbies and interests and communicate with families, which are all indispensable parts of quality life. The trend of doing business by telecommunications equally benefits the whole society because business can be done more efficiently and effectively at a much lower cost. An extra benefit is that more natural resources can be saved. Moreover, small businesses have almost the same opportunities to advertise and promote their products and services on line to compete with those large ones, which makes the whole society fairer. On the downside, there is an increasing concern about the loss of direct human contact as a result of which there is impoverishment of people's emotional lives, as well as the loss of social cohesion. Moreover, the privacy of the individual can suffer. So, proper steps have to be taken to protect the public against cybercrime and cyber terrorism. To sum up, performing everyday tasks and business transactions by means of telecommunications benefits the individual and the society enormously. There is simply no going back.