The government's investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

The importance of different art forms, which were always debatable, has now become more controversial with a number of people believing that it’s a wastage of money to spend government funding them, while it should be utilised more on public services. I strongly disagree with this statement. This essay will discuss why spending on the arts, theatre, and music is crucial and not an extravagance. Analysing the statement and explaining further, community service is inevitably considered a priority by every government over other activities. People's basic needs must be met, and they must be improved and upgraded on a regular basis. Take, for example, the healthcare sector and schooling facilities. With an increasing population, they need to be larger in number or extension and potentially modernise the previous ones. Therefore, no doubt the above points justify those who believe that official finances should be paid more for public welfare. However, the arts have always played an essential role in enhancing the cultural values of various nations. In the recent contemporary era, globally, the level of stress has increased significantly over time due to work overload and the busy lifestyles of people. It is an hour's demand that they need healthy entertainment to de-stress because it works as a relaxing therapy.To produce better content in music, movies, and theatre plays, it needs investments and the government’s attention. I believe this would not only help to encourage more artists to polish their natural talent, but also bring fame and generate huge revenue for the country, stabilising its economy. According to the arguments aforementioned, one may reach the conclusion that although the benefits of spending taxes on public services cannot be denied, the expression and application of human creativity skills should be appreciated by the government by supporting artists for their work through all possible means.