Modern technology is now very common in most workplaces. How do you think this has changed the way that people work? Do you think there are disadvantages to relying too much on technology?

As high technology can make people ’s life easy and quick, more and more people tend to exploit these advantages in their workplaces and change the way they work. Some say such up-to-date technology can be detrimental if people cannot control themselves, which may lead to addiction. In my opinion, I disagree with this idea and think that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. First of all, individuals can take advantage of adopting new communication technology. For example, portable devices, such as smartphones and laptops, allow employees and their supervisors to hold a video conference online instead of squeezing into a tiny physical room, while inevitable without the help of these gadgets. Furthermore, if workers have to stay home to take their children, they can probably work from home without missing any meetings. As a result, workers can have a more flexible working place. Moreover, the advent of the internet has changed people ’s business patterns. Due to the expansion of online stores in concert with the prompt delivery service and the third -party payment system that assures payment security, consumers have a tendency to purchase commodities online, which leads to the recession of brick-and-mortar stores. While some people might spend more money because of shopping addiction brought by such convenient electronic commerce, setting a limitation on their monthly expenses can solve this problem. In conclusion, state-of-the-art technology brings about communication tools that have permeated into people ’s daily life, which lead to changes in lifestyles in a positive way. In my opinion, even though there might be some drawbacks that people might encounter when employing such technology, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.