Most large companies nowadays operate multi-nationally. To what extent do multinational companies have responsibility toward local communities in which they operate?

There is a controversial idea heating a debate over whether international corporations should have social responsibility, especially to the local communities where they based their office in. While this thinking is valid to some extent, I would contend that they should be accountable for it, however the degree of responsibility should be limited. It is indisputable that those intercontinental companies should provide the citizens with some appropriate employment opportunities. Apparently, by having a chance to work at a large scale company, the indigenous people can receive such a decent salary which then leads to heighten their life’s quality. Likewise, those corporations should also treat them well, rather than exploiting their labour power. Besides, they can also arrange a proportion of the money generated from their lucrative profit in order to support the local charity or environmental preservation fund. As a result, both their reputation and the native people's lives will be considerably ameliorated. Hence, it is reasonable to admit that the mul-ti nationally companies should be partly accountable for the community where they constructed their office. While the redeeming features are widely acknowledged, the level of responsibility should be narrowed. Particularly, they also request for the money with a view to surviving in a competitive world. It is inarguable that the company should utilize that money sufficiently to produce and design some products that meet the demand of the customers first, before giving any donation to the local community. Therefore, in other words, a company can only make a positive contribution to society if it is in good financial health. In conclusion, it is undeniable that those international companies should accommodate the indigenous community. Nevertheless, it should be limited to a certain extent so that they could also remain in such a fierce world.