Many claim that the fast food industry had a negative effect on the environment, eating habits, and families. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some would argue that the prevalence of fast food in society negatively impacts families, nutrition, and the environment. I am in complete agreement with this sentiment. Firstly, fast food has destabilized traditional family meals. In the past, it was common for individuals to spend time eating a family meal so that parents and children could share quality time together. Fast food does not make this impossible, however, consumers are more likely to eat fast food while driving, watching television, or outside the home. The impact on families is marginal since fast food meals may be the exception though it is also decidedly negative. Secondly, few would claim that fast food is healthy. The products at most fast food establishments are extremely high in sugar, fat, calories, and chemical preservatives. For instance, a cheeseburger from McDonald’s contains red meat that has been treated with steroids, salty cheese, and various other ingredients with, at best, doubtful dietary implications. This applies to the majority of fast food and is the main reason many today strive to eat at home or at healthier restaurants. Finally, the production of fast food has significant environmental repercussions. Firstly, this involves factory farming. In order to supply beef, chicken, and pork there are massive farms that not only occupy land but also produce methane and other gases harmful to the ozone layer. Secondly, the transportation of goods that ensures consistency across franchises requires fossil fuel consumption. The chief culprits here are cars, trucks, and aeroplanes. In conclusion, though there may be limited benefits related to convenience, fast food is an overwhelming negative in terms of families, eating habits, and the natural world. Whenever possible, consumers should not opt for fast food.