Some people believe that if a police force carries guns, this encourages a higher level of violence in that society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There is an argumentative statement heating a debate over the fact that allowing police officers to be equipped with guns. While some people argue that this will increase the rate of criminal violence in the society, others hold a strong view that this can bring a wealth of redeeming features. Personally, I consider myself as an advocate of the latter. Undisputedly, weapons can bring a wealth of tremendous benefits not only to the police force but also the ordinary people. To be more specific, in those areas where criminals are rampant, holding a gun would not only protect the public but also will protect themselves. It gives the police the leverage in their combat against criminals, especially those hardened. Norway police force can be cited as a compelling example for those who were not equipped while doing patrols. However, after a destructive attack from the IS terrorist, this has not been the case anymore. Therefore, firearms play such a significant role to serve as a deterrent to would-be offenders. While the redeeming features of armed police are widely acknowledged, this doing may exert several drawbacks such as a miscarriage of justice and mistaken shootings of innocent civilians. Even though the purposes of legislation, which are put forward, is to protect citizens from tortue or cruel treatment, it can also be used by the police to protect their rights. The police will be less likely to think twice before pulling the trigger when they see someone as a dangerous threat. Moreover, they can easily get away with private execution by inventing a legitimate excuse such as self-defence. Undisputedly, the chance of shoot-out may rise, causing many preventable injuries or losses of life. In conclusion, although gun possession can encourage the violent ratio in communities, I believe that this can bring more good than harm and contribute to the protection of the public.