Today, people are getting greedy and selfish. Some people argue that we should go back to the old days and show respect for the family and community, so that we can make the world a better place to live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

For the time being, as people are getting more greedy and selfish, some people claim that we should revive the traditional way of life in order to make the world a better place to live in. From my point of view, I consider myself as an advocate of this statement. It is irrefutable to note that people from the previous days tend to show more respect to their family than people nowadays. In the past, the first one that people can turn to when a dire problem occurs is their beloved relatives who are willing to help immediately. Especially when it comes to money-related problems, financial aid is often offered by the guardians to find a viable solution to the issue. At odds with this, the current generation lead a more independent lifestyle and prefer to work separately for individual benefits which make them self-centred and snobbish people. Sharing and caring has become rarer and often get blamed for the generation gap. These radical changes towards family have caused severe consequences in the family solidarity. Therefore, it is essential to revive the bygone attitude toward our family. With regard to the community, while in the old days, others' benefits were taken into consideration and almost all action was done for the sake of others, nowadays so greedy people have become that they may even engage in illegal activities just to expand their own profit. To illustrate this, merchants can earn handsome incomes from producing the disqualified products and cajoling customers to purchase them even when they are not necessary. Moreover, they refuse to plough back a fraction of their incomes to the community benefits such as charity or helping homeless people. Obviously, the solidarity among people has been dismantled due to their overwhelming egoism. To conclude, greed and individualism have done both families and society a disservice. Hence, in order to avoid further loss of household solidarity and family unity, I believe that we should reconstruct the concept of family and community like what people in the past used to do.