Nowadays people around the world are spending more money on consumer goods like TVs and microwave ovens. Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent years, as a result of higher global consumption, more people are purchasing domestic appliances. At the same time however, there is some uncertainty about the merits or demerits of the situation. In this essay I will examine both sides of the debate to seek a conclusion. To begin with, domestic devices today have higher functionality due to the internet of things, and they enable people to free themselves from boring daily chores and make better use of their spare time For example, the microwave oven can significantly reduce the time spent on cooking, enabling people to spend more time with their loved ones to build stronger family ties or, to study so as to improve academic performance. Furthermore, the money people spent on goods fuels the economy, boosting technological innovation and creating more job opportunities. On the other hand, under the pervasive influence of advertising, many people purchase items not from need but from social competition, to “keep up with the Joneses”. Moreover, the resulting higher consumption is also associated with higher family debt, as people use credit cards to make purchases they cannot afford, leading to hardship and disharmony in the family. In addition, it is awell well -established fact that consumer goods today are manufactured with built-in obsolescence, which is wasteful of raw materials and creates pollution problems without proper recycling. To summarize, there is no doubt that modern appliances can make life simpler, and free more time for personal recreation. At the same time however, mass consumerism has negative effects on family budgets and ultimately also the environment. In the final analysis, therefore, one can only conclude that the real beneficiaries are the manufacturing corporations and their advertisers, as people are brainwashed into buying things they really do not need.