Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think students should spend time on more important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

These days, nutrition and cooking have emerged as two necessary subjects for children. However, there is an opposing group that thinks that students should focus on the conventional syllabus. Even though both opinions are sensible, from my perspective, I believe that such education about food science and preparation brings overwhelming advantages. On the one hand, I understand that many parents might forbid their children from investing time in food -relating programs due to social norms. In most countries around the world, academic subjects (Maths, Literature, etc.) are considered more renowned than Nutrition and Cooking, which are usually labelled as extracurricular activities. For example, the Mathematics Olympiad is of the most prestigious contests for youngsters attending the 12-levelled education worldwide, while cooking-enthusiasms are not provided with such rewarding platforms. On the other hand, attaining a clear grasp on a healthy and sanitary eating habit is essential for children in modern society. First, food science lessons can provide students with the fundamental ideas and approaches for a healthy diet. For example, there are still children who refuse to eat vegetables and consume solely fast food, not acknowledging the fact that pre-prepared meals are full of chemical additives and food preservation which can be accumulated inside our bodies over time and lead to several illnesses. Therefore, attending a nutrition program can help clear the mist and consolidate their choice of meal. Second, food hygiene is often neglected by young people because they are not equipped with adequate skills in the kitchen. In fact, many teenagers living in the cities might never pick up a knife or select fruits in the supermarket. By making these tasks compulsory, students can learn more efficiently and eventually be able to prepare their meals following safety methods. In conclusion, while conventional subjects and food -relating lessons are both vital for the development of children, I suppose that students should be given time and guidance in cooking and nutrition programs in order to achieve a healthy and nutritious eating style in their future.