Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could the disadvantages of being self-employed? Give reasons for you answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days being self-employed has become a popular choice for lots of people, rather than being office workers in larger companies. Being in the highest position in the highest hierarchy, certainly has positive aspects for an employee, however, there will also be some drawbacks. This essay will address both positive and negative features of this career option. Clearly, there are major benefits to owning your own business. On ekey is that it provides more freedom to control your work conditions or working environments. In terms of being your own boss, a case in point is my parents, they have their own company and they don’t necessarily have to work at the office but at home. An additional reason that people opt for self-employment is the potential to earn more revenue. The income you earn ought to be from your hard work and experiences individually, as it would not be shared with anyone. To illustrate, freelancers get paid based on how much effort they have done. However, the problem is that if they are going through a severe injury and unable to work, there would be no chances for them to earn any revenue. In comparison, office workers who work in a larger firm would still get paid a salary at the end of every month and they also get sick leave. This ensures a more consistent and secure financial stream for an individual. A further even more common downside, being the boss and having to manage every single process could be a source of the serious cause of stress and also a lack of personal freetime. There would be more chances for you to dedicate your time too much on work and could eventually find no time for yourself. In conclusion, I would once again reaffirm that being self-employed offers both beneficial and disadvantageous perspectives. Therefore, it is essential that we aim for a healthy life balance as it could reduce tension and allow us to lead a smoother way of life irrespective of whether we work for ourselves or a corporation.