The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advances in technology. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to modernization in the area of machinery crime has been reduced as compared to the past. I strongly disagree with this statement. To commence with, criminal offences have been increasing since the last decade because automation has given the power to criminals to do whatever they want in many areas such as cybercrimes. Additionally, it is very easy to do impersonate somebody nowadays because of the many services provided through the internet. For instance, due to the ongoing pandemic, educational institutions are providing education through online platforms such as zoom and many more because of which it is more likely for the students to cheat in any test or examination. Moreover, sometimes learners ask their siblings to attend the class and take notes for them which results in poor learning. It is undeniable that technology has been helpful for humans in many fields but it has its side effects more than benefits because hacking another person's personal information through the internet in any corner of the globe has become possible due to the development of many software which can be installed and used without providing the location with paying few bucks a month. Furthermore, it leads to stealing funds from the banking applications that have been installed in that person's mobile. For example, sometimes hackers call from a private number and try to sell some product to the person because they need around 20-25 seconds to access all the information that has been stored in the phone. To sum up, even if mechanical gizmos are helping to reduce the number of unlawful events but also being a source for offenders by giving them reliability and security to commit crimes.