Some people believe that it is best to accept a bad situation, such as an unsatisfactory job or shortage of money. Others argue that it is better to try and improve such situations. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

When facing a complex unfortunate situation, people argue that it is in their best interest to accept the events because it would give them some peace of mind. While others allege that trying to solve the issue would be the most rewarding course of action. In my opinion, being a bystander is an absolute illogical choice since it wouldn't help us overcome the problem. First, it is worth mentioning that being calm and relaxed when facing difficulties is of the utmost importance for our mental health. Experiencing pressure and distress when finding ourselves in a bad situation is inevitable and if it is accumulated over time, it would be extremely unbearable. Therefore, to avoid it, a mechanism has appeared in our evolution which tends to help us cope with difficulties by accepting the negative aspects and as a result, while nothing has changed, people would feel calmer during those periods. On the other hand, it is rather intuitive that solving a problem is the only way to make a positive change. This change not only would benefit us directly but also would give us a sense of self-esteem and self-efficacy which would be definitely necessary characteristics for later issues to come. For instance, as a toddler, we are unable to stand. When we struggle to use our legs and overcome all those fallings, in the end, we ought to learn to stand in addition to set our goals further to walk. Whereas if we would give in to failure, we could never walk. To conclude, accepting a negative situation has the advantage of a calm mentality while trying to improve it has the merit of actually achieving something. Personally, I believe that the benefits of solving a problem outweigh the positive points of just accepting it.