People say that it is a waste of time for high school students to learn literature at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is a controversial perspective heating a debate that absorbing literary knowledge is unnecessary for students after graduation from secondary school. While this statement is valid to some extent, I comparatively do not uphold this notion. Without a shadow of a doubt, going through a literary learning journey stands people in a good stead in the future, especially when they are looking for a job. With a high understanding of literature, it can practically help people in selecting proper words in order to write different kinds of essays fitting with various circumstances. For example, writing-related occupations such as journalists and reporters have to frequently provide abundant neat articles which can satisfy readers. Therefore, having a long time cultivating their writing sets of skills, in particular vocabulary and grammar do wonders for their line of career. Hence, students require many literary honing if they want to embark on such vocations. While the redeeming features of learning literature in working fields are widely acknowledged, it also lends a hand in provoking student’s pride of nation. There are numerous precious documentaries which were written to remind people of the hurdles and hardships that our forefathers went through in history. The Independence Declaration of Uncle Ho - the greatest man in Vietnam - can be cited as a compelling example for the sacrifice of our ancestors when they fought tooth and nail to devote themselves to the building of the nation. Thus, reading literary stories is a favourable way to raise residents’ patriotism. In conclusion, it is important for high school students to squander their time in studying literature since it is of tremendous benefit.