Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words. Some people think that people who have committed crimes should do unpaid community work such as helping a charity or cleaning the streets, rather than spending time in prison.

Across the globe, people are sent to prison for the crimes they committed. Some people argue that the criminals should help with community work without being paid instead of being sent to jail. I strongly agree with the statement and I will discuss my reasons in this essay. Do good and good things will come to you. This is a phrase that I always hold on to and in this case, I believe that putting the criminals in a good community will help them to be a better person. This is because people tend to learn from what they see and hear. In addition to that, everybody has a soft spot deep inside their heart but sadly they are not exposed to positive environments in order for them to differentiate between right and wrong doings. By putting these people in a good community and encouraging them to do good things without expecting a return, I believe this will give a spark in their heart to be a better person in future. As on the other hand, if we send them to the jail, they might not realise the good side of themselves and keep drowning in the dark. Secondly, I am certain that those who committed crimes deserve a second chance. Many of them regretted what they have done and wish to undo their crimes. Besides, they are willing to do anything to gain back the trust from their families, friends, as well as the communities. I have seen a man who had to steal some food for his children, begged the police not send him to jail and in return, he is willing to work as a cleaner in the supermarket unpaid. As we can see here, many are driven into doing crimes due to struggles in life. They are desperate and have reached the end of the road before decided to commit the crime. These people definitely deserve a second chance. In conclusion, I utterly agree with the proposal where those who commit crimes deserved not to be sent to jail but should be given the opportunity to pay back to society. It is clear that putting them back in the community brings more advantages than throwing them behind bars.