In recent times, many people have focused on the negative effects advertising has on children’s health, behaviour and family relationships. Advertising to children should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the past few decades, we notice lots of advertisement having children as their audiences. Many argue on the effects of advertising to children as it creates variety of negative impacts on children’s well-being. I strongly agree to this proposal and I will provide some reasons and examples in my essay. Firstly, advertising to children should be banned because it has tremendous effects on young’s health. Majority of the food that are being advertised are genetically modified and contain lots of chemicals such as artificial colouring and preservatives. For instance, the fries that all kids love to eat, contain hydrogenated vegetable oil to preserve their texture and colour. This potentially harmful substance can cause lots of diseases such as eczema, allergy reactions and shortness of breath that could lead to asthma. In addition, food that are advertised usually high in calories. Consequently, obesity in children has remarkably increased in the recent years. Moreover, I completely insist that this practice should be restricted as it is also affecting children’s behaviour. There are many adverts show luxury lifestyles that are not reasonably priced, especially for middle class families. For example, an advert of a toy or gadget can influence children to force their parents to purchase one. This action consequently add pressure to the parents. Apart from that, advertisement always shows fake relationship. As long as they can sell their products, the advertiser will do anything including interfering with children’s emotion. As a result, children will compare and doubt the love of their own parents towards them and hence interrupt family relationships. In conclusion, I utterly agree that advertisement that aim children as their viewer should be banned in order to have a healthy and proactive future generations. I strongly advice the higher authorities to take action on this matter as soon as possible to preserve the quality of our children’s health.