Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. What are the problems? What should governments and individuals do to tackle these problems?

These days, people are increasingly migrating from the countryside to large metropolises in search of work or in the hope of having a better life, resulting in the overcrowding in the areas. Although there will undoubtedly be some negative consequences of this trend, solutions can be taken to mitigate these potential problems. It is obvious that there are a number of issues related to this trend. One of the main problems is traffic congestion. When the quantity of residents in major cities increases, a large volume of vehicles can be used to help them commute on a daily basis. This can lead to traffic jams, especially during rush hours. Another one is that people living in metropolitan areas can suffer from environmental degradation. This is because there might be an amount of exhaust fumes released from numerous modes of transport as well as a great deal of waste discharged into the habitat. However, there are several actions that could be taken to solve the problems mentioned above. Firstly, governments should spend national budgets on urban planning so as to facilitate travel. For example, they may build various lanes and bridges in order that people could have more space to move. Meanwhile, individuals need to comply with traffic rules. Secondly, it is important for governments to raise people’s awareness of protecting the environment. For example, they can encourage individuals to use environmentally friendly vehicles such as bicycles to reduce excessive emissions. At the same time, citizens should try to recycle or reuse things so that environmental pollution can be minimized dramatically. In conclusion, there are two pressing problems involving in the overcrowding in metropolitan areas today, namely overcrowded traffic and environmental contamination. To deal with these issues effectively, it is necessary for governments to invest money in city planning and motivate urban dwellers to live greener, while individuals should be more aware of traffic laws and preserving their surroundings.