Today, advanced science and technology have made great changes to people’s life, but artist such as musicians, painters and writers are still highly valued. What can arts tell us about life that science and technology cannot?

Nowadays, with development of science and technology, people’s lives have been changed to a great extent, but the arts should not be overlooked for their own contributions. Arts are important in people’s life, they can teach us many things. Firstly, every piece of music, painting or book is a window to another person’s heart. Thus, when people observe art, they can see the world from a new and different perspective. It in stills in us empathy and the ability to connect with others from different backgrounds. For example, listening to certain rap songs arouses us to sympathize with those people living in poverty or facing discrimination. Furthermore, the arts teach us that there is value in emotions and passion, since these elements allow artists to create awe-inspiring works. Too often are people judged by their ability to think rationally or logically, so the arts serves as a counterweight by teaching the society that other characteristics can be just as useful. For instance, Picasso’s imagination and self-expression have led him to create paintings that have inspired countless potential artists. Finally, the arts can teach us morals and ethics, mostly through books and texts. It isno exaggeration to say that writers have shaped much of human society, for their words have instilled in us important principles like love and kindness as well as various lessons on life. The novel The Lord of the Rings, for instance, has inspired me to persevere even when faced with challenging circumstances. In conclusion, I believe that the arts have a lot to offer because they have broadened our horizons, exposed us to the value of artistic characteristics, and teach us important life lessons.