In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for government to impose a higher tax on this kind of food Do you agree or disagree?

I would mention that I completely disagree with this idea and believe that there are plenty of factors that prevent government to impose a higher tax to reduce the production and consumption of these foods. First of all it’s indispensable for us to look back to genesis of fast foods during this century. The kind of foods people consume has changed over time because of dramatic changes in lifestyle. During the past decades mega cities have appeared and rural areas have become smaller than the past. As a result people migrate to cities to find a job in developed areas with a plenty of factories and job opportunities. Considering the fact that people in big cities are as busy as a bee to afford the cost of living, therefore they don’t have sufficient time to devote to prepare healthy foods on a regular basis,so eating fast foods become popular. Secondly decreasing the population of rural people and covering the lands of villages to urban areas causes the shortage of cultivating organic foods therefore it is impossible to prepare enough organic foods. Finally one of the biggest industries in the world is food industry and many economies have incomes from their food industry. So imposing further tax on fast foods may have harmful effects on economical factors and the quality of life of huge number of people who work on it. To conclude, l strongly believe that there are plenty of things that government can do to control the amount of fast foods people eat instead of taxation on them.