Nowadays many people choose to be self employed rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What are the disadvantages to being self employed?

There is no hidden fact that individuals prefer to be their own boss and therefore many people look into the possibilities of becoming self-employed. However, like many things being independent does have its strengths and drawbacks. In the course of this essay, we shall look at both sides of this coin. First and foremost, as mentioned at the start of this essay you will be your own boss. This is one of the biggest pros when it comes to freelancing. You will be able to structure your working hours in such a manner that it will intertwine with your personal life rather than taking priority to it. This will allow a person to also put emphasis on their health and will help to encourage a healthy way of life. For example, I currently have a colleague who has given up his 9 to 5 white-collar job, to be able to work as a maverick travel agent. Here he enjoys the freedom to carry out personal errands, time to spend with his family and friends, and also to be present for important family functions. This cannot be achieved if he stayed at his corporate job. On the other hand, being an unrestrained worker means that you will not be getting a monthly paycheck, In fact, as you are a freelancer you will be having constant access to a system 24 hours a day, which will mean that people will call on you at any time of the day for a quick response. Furthermore, as you are the sole employee all the responsibility and further paperwork falls on you. An example of this is, my colleague after being retrenched started a bakery business with his wife towards the end of 2020. After 6 months of operations, they were forced to close down because, the overall costs of purchasing the raw materials, and transportation outweighed any profits that they were making. In conclusion, whilst the prospect of self-employment is something that we all dream about, we must be realistic and understand the difficulties involved in setting up own business. Therefore, unless we are 100% sure that we are capable of handling the legwork it does not seem like a profitable solution.