Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a notion that the invention of computers has become one of the most essential milestones of the last century. This essay will demonstrate that over the past several decades computers have indeed become an integral part of our lives. First of all, the invention of computers has allowed people to advance space exploration by providing error-free calculations in a matter of seconds. For example, before computers, NASA had a whole department of mathematicians that was responsible for calculating probabilities of spacecraft landing trajectory. These complex calculations could take up to several months, with no insurance from human errors, making space exploration life-threatening for the astronauts. However, with the help of computers NASA was able to make all the landing preparations in several hours. As a result, NASA managed to get to the forefront of the Space Race. Furthermore, due to the development of computers, medical scientists were able to diagnose illnesses in the early stages, but also assist in the treatment of old ones. Recently there was news about a blind woman that successfully underwent surgery in Sweden. With the help of complex computations performed by computers, the surgeons managed to implant a chip into the woman's brain that allowed her to see once again, after over ten years. Thus, the latest medical technology allows doctors to save and prolong more lives. In conclusion, the invention of computers has truly become the most valuable part in the history of humanity. This technology allowed people to save lives through medical inventions and explore places beyond Earth.