Governments should not have to provide care or financial support for elderly people because it is the responsibility of each person to prepare for retirement and support him or herself. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The elder generation is a reflection of our past and history. It is commonly argued that these segments of the public are unnecessarily consuming our state funds and should be left to survive at their own expense. Notwithstanding any logic behind this popular belief, I strongly disagree with the said contention. The reasons for the same are two folds. Firstly, in the democratic structure of Governance, everyone must be treated equally, irrespective of their age, caste, gender or creed. Consequently, taking concern of the old people is one of the prime objectives of every state. Moreover, this generation have had paid a lot in taxes and thus, deserves to be treated with respect. Above all, there are individuals of the said group who are vulnerable or incapable of maintaining themselves, like folks with memory-related ailments or old parents who never had kids. Therefore, in such,cases it is the duty of the government to take care of a referred class of citizens. Secondly, it is a matter of morality and ethics. To be precise, every individual deserves to be treated with dignity and our governments are constitutionally bound to maintain the said order. As a result, taking care of the elders by providing financial support is mandatory for every government not only on legal terms but also on moral grounds. For example, article 14 of the Indian constitution empowers every elderly with a fundamental right to be treated equally and with dignity and admittedly, it is the obligation of the government to maintain the said order by way of supporting them morally as well as financially. By way of,conclusion it can be stated that democracy is for the people, by the people and of the people and accordingly, every individual, especially the elder generation, have a right to be taken responsibility of and no law can abstain from averred responsibility at any point of time.