The government should spend more money on medical research to protect citizens’ health rather than on protecting the environment. Do you agree or disagree?

There are controversial perspectives heating a debate over aspects that the government should invest in currently. While some hold a strong view that the government ought to prioritize medical research, the opposite makes a statement that environmental problems should be paid more attention. Although each has its own redeeming features, I would contend that it is optimal to combine both mentioned elements. Doubtlessly, medical research plays a paramount significance in preventing the population from coming down with diseases. Due to a variety of medical studies and experiments, scientists can make up vaccines to help people avoid contracting epidemics. COVID-19 vaccine can be cited as a compelling example of this statement. There are a wide range of leading companies that have invested a great amount of money with a view to supporting medical experts to find out medicine for COVID-19 in order to save people’s lives. It is undeniable that investing in medical research can bring tremendous benefits for healthcare. While the merits of medical studies are widely acknowledged, the government should also take notice of environmental issues as it has an effect on Earth’s habitat. For such a long time, the environment has been playing an indispensable role in providing not only humans but also animals with living space, which considerably affects our life. Therefore, if the environment is damaged greatly, it will make an eclectic mix of species be on the verge of extinction leading to an imbalanced ecosystem. For instance, because of global warming, the Arctic reindeer witnessed a sharp decline in population which caused a number of plant species to disappear. Thus, the government should invest money in formulating a solution to environmental grave issues before it becomes worse. All in all, it is irrefutable that medical research together with environmental protection is worth being invested by the government.