Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children.

Some people argue that reading books are more beneficial than watching television or video games. I completely agree with the idea that children should spend most of their time o n r eading books. On the one hand, I believe that those kids who read books on t he daily basis definitely will gain a lot of knowledge ranging from history, geography, cultures, art... which could benefit f or t hem at school or later on. My brother, for example, has been absorbing a numerous amount of knowledge from reading books since he was five. He has participated in lots of knowledge competitions and won a number of prizes. Besides, stimulating children ' imagination is another benefit c omes from reading books since they can imagine vividly the characters, nature, culture... in that book, which is really useful in some of a rt forms in p articularly, and in creativity in general. On the other hand, spending so much time o n p laying computer games or watching television negatively affect children ' b ehavior. Firstly, gaming is highly addictive and appealing to children because they get applauses and a nother levels to take part in more and more often and they try to reach that goal. This type of addiction may have e ffect ranging from lack of sleep, sacrificing homework to playing more hours. Secondly, more serious illnesses come with this addiction. Many children sit hours playing games may skip their meals or eat fast food which results in several serious illnesses like heart disease, visual problems, digestive disorder... In conclusion, I strongly believe that kids should focus on reading books in their free time instead of playing video games or watching television.