Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam.’ How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Currently, the number of people who use cars is increasing rapidly. It is considered that today majority of cities in the world are one big traffic jam. I agree that due to the growth in car ownership, the amount of traffic congestion is becoming more common and one of the serious problems in our modern world. Government should take some measures in order to reduce this trend In this essay I will explain why it is true and discuss some actions which can be taken. Undeniably, due to the improvements in living conditions, people became more wealthy. Almost everyone can afford to buy vehicles. Moreover, it seems to them easier and more comfortable to have their own car rather than use any other transport. These two main reasons make the percentage of automobile ownership grow. Almost in every mega cities people collide with traffic congestion because the community think it is the best transport for them. However, there are some actions that authority can do. First of all, society should be encouraged to use public transport such as the metro and buses. Authorities should improve the condition of public transport such as to make it more comfortable and cheaper. Besides, old kinds of transportation should be replaced by modern and new ones. For instance, the government in Japan provide humans with express trains that are not only fast but also more efficient and cosier which make them the best way of transportation. Furthermore, the authorities should charge a tax on private cars. It guarantees a decrease in car ownership because people will prefer to use cheaper ways in order to get from one place to another. In conclusion, no doubt that the amount of private cars is rising due to the improvements in living conditions and preference to the own automobiles. The government should impose a levy and encourage people to use public transport.