An increasing number of children have become hooked on fast food and aerated drinks that do not provide much nutrition. This poor diet has led to a rise in obesity among children. What are the problems that are associated with obesity in children and what steps could be taken to prevent it?

In recent years, the number of overweight cases among children has sharply increased. One of the causes for this are the changes towards bad nutritional habits, such as junk food ingestion. This essay will explore the issues related to obesity and give some solutions to tackle this problem.  The main problem generated by this way of feeding at early ages is the short and long-term development of physiological and biochemical disturbances. As proof of this, modern researches show that the consumption of fast food and soft drink more than twice a week contributes to the development of cardiovascular diseases, such as diabetes and myocardial infarction. Undoubtedly this data highlights the implication of a healthy and balanced diet for the sake of further generation, and suggest the negative biological impact that fast foods can have. Several specialists enumerate 2 main steps that prevent to increase in the rate of children's obesity. First, nutritional education is not just for the kid, but also for the whole family, because the adults are the ones responsible for shopping and food preparation. For example, if at home the child receives the stimulus for eating natural food, so she/he would get used to this kind of food. And, second, elevate the percentage of taxes over junk foods and beverages. This measure would escalate the prices of this type of meal, and consequently, a decrease in its consumption tends to happen. In conclusion, obesity among children is a health disease that is intrinsically related to the type of food ingested. Furthermore, it is not a subject for the health community, because it involves social and political spheres as well. Likewise, the government should pay attention and create several measures and steps to fight it, because healthy kids build a healthier future. In short, simple changes could lead to huge results.