The ease of international travel and the spread of various kinds of mass media all over the world have made it more possible than ever for people to know how other people live in other countries. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

International travelling has become affordable for most people in developed countries and the spread of mass media even reached the whole world. This phenomenen leads to a better knowledge of the way of life of other nations. But do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages? The advantage of touring around all over the world is that people from different nations and cultures come together and understand each other much better. For example, travelers from rich countries see for themselves how poor citizens live and as a result they reflect on their own wealth. On the other hand, the various kinds of mass media all over the world allow people of different social classes to inform theirselves how other persons live. Having the opportunity of watching TV- programms programmes of other countries keeps us aware of what is going on elsewhere. Nowadays the internet enables us to get much more information about other nations than we ever did. Nevertheless, there are not only advantages. International travelling also causes problems between different cultures when travelers don't respect the way of living and traditions of the residents of the visited countries - for example their religious attitudes. The widespread of mass media leads the poorer society to the knowledge of how more comfortable richer nations live, what they eat or what kind of wealth they possess. This fact often makes people jelaous and give rise to anger and disappointment. It is certainly one reason for the huge amount of refugees coming from Africa to Europe in the hope of a better life. To sum up, even though there are a lot of disadvantages, I think that the advantages outweigh them. In times of modern techniques and media there is a better understanding for each other than we had in the past.