In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

Nowadays, with rise in the rate of crime, authorities are lying emphases on installing video cameras at places of public interest to ensure safety in society. Video surveillance has gained immense popularity in a number of cities in recent years. While critics may consider in an invasion of public privacy, I believe that the benefits prevail over the drawbacks. There are two main reasons why a section of society might disapprove of the use of video cameras in public places. The first objection is that we are constantly monitored by the authorities or by private security firms. Many people find this intrusive and feel that the recording of their movements is a form of state control that curtails their individual freedom. The second argument against the installation of CCTV cameras is that they are being used as an alternative to police officers patrolling the streets, which is unlikely to make members of the public feel safer. Despite the hazards mentioned above, I believe the use of video cameras to monitor public areas has numerous merits. The key objective of video surveillance is to deter criminals and to prevent crime. Petty crimes like shoplifting and pick pocketing are less likely to occur under surveillance cameras. Whenever someone commits a crime, the police can use the video evidence to catch and prosecute offenders. Thus, video cameras offer valuable support to police officers, and make cities safer for the inhabitants and visitors alike. In conclusion, I believe that we gain more than we lose from the enhanced security that CCTV cameras bring to our lives and transform society into an ideal one. Therefore, a wise decision would be to reconcile the interest in individual liberty with the interest in effective law enforcement.