In schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects, while boys choose science subjects. What is the reason? Should the trend be changed?

It commonly happens that in academic institutions, female students tend to choose arts subjects, while male students prefer to take interest in science. I will elaborate on a potential root cause and an alternative solution to drive the change of this condition. To commence with, it is widely believed that men are more capable of logical and scientific stuff than women. This opinion is being accepted by most of society such that teachers and parents persuade and sometimes force specific subjects to study based on their gender. For example, in Indonesia, most high school teachers would encourage male students to take a major in engineering, while introducing female students to artsier majors such as language, anthropology, and so on. At the same time parents continuously pressure their son to major in physic or mathematic, while persuading their daughter to avoid those majors. Although society thinks that this is normal, this trend should be changed. One of the reasons is gender equality is one of the utmost important factors for the overall development of the nation. Females should be encouraged and facilitated to choose the paths that they desired, the same goes for males. This change can be driven by the education institution itself by opening up the same opportunity for both males and females to study in certain majors. For instance, most well-known universities consider the men and women student ratio as one of the success measurements. Hence, they start to build awareness that having female students in engineering or male students in the language would add value. By way of conclusion, I believe that gender equality is a crucial factor for country development. Hence, both males and females should be given equal opportunity and freedom to choose their subjects. The change can be driven by the academic institution itself. This trend in the end would bring more benefits than restricting a subject based on gender.