As housing is a basic need for people , governments should free housing for everyone who can't afford it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As housing is a basic need for people, governments should free housing for everyone who can’t afford it.To what extent do you agree or disagree? It is argued by some that the authorities must build houses and allocate to people who cannot afford to own a house.I disagree with this statement as I believe this would not be a practical and sustainable solution to homelessness. However, in certain situations,providing free housing is possible. First of all, if the government started providing free homes to all people, it would imbalance the economy. In fact, there are also other problems the governments should be focused on like health care and providing education. Moreover, the taxpayers will not be happy, if the taxes will just go to helping some people who may be unemployed just to get the benefits.If people know that they will get free accommodations, they possibly stop working hard and become dependent on all the state benefits. This has more detrimental effects on society and the governments. However, the government should provide free housing to hoemlessness only if there is inefficiency. Thus, governments can be held responsible in supplying accommodation to those earners who have very low income and in need of decent, safe and sanitary housing. Moreover, it is the responsibility of the governments to improve the living standards of the underprivileged citizens. In contrast, there is also an external factor in which people cannot afford to own a house. A good example of an external factor is the job recession due to the economic crisis leading to homelessness. In this case, is it not possible that the government provides housing at no cost. In conclusion,even though providing free homes has the factors,it is difficult for the government to provide free housing to all its citizens.Not only do governments address free homes to their population but also free education and health care is also on their onus.