Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary schools. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Today, having command of a second language is one of the indispensable features sought by employers, so foreign language education is quite important. According to some experts, foreign language education should be commenced at primary school, rather than secondary schools. Learning a language is required a significant amount of time and attention, so starting at secondary schools are not beneficial for children, yet primary schools also pose a number of problems for children. There are numerous advantages for children to launch learning a foreign language at primary schools. For a child, the environment is the most descriptive factor of their quality of improvement. To illustrate, going to a secondary school leads to various changes such as new teachers, new schedule or new school environment and children may not feel comfortable since their environment continually changes, so it may affect the quality of education. On the other hand, a secondary school requires to allocate more space and children may be overwhelmed by intensive training programs since they have other lectures such as chemistry or physics. Although the primary school offers many advantages, it also poses numerous drawbacks. First of all, the amount of time for foreign languages in the curriculum may not be enough since there are other classes. Hence, children may not learn rapidly due to a lack of space. Moreover, primary schools mostly care about science lectures more than foreign language education. For example, the amount of hours for chemistry is more than French in the curriculum in the majority of schools. Since even the schools do not pay sufficient attention to foreign language education, children will not as well. Briefly, while there are a number of disadvantages of primary schools, the advantages certainly outweigh the potential negative consequences. From a child's point of view, having time for playing games is also important so primary schools are sufficient for a children ' foreign language education as a starting point.