Some countries have introduced laws to limit working hours for employees. Why are these laws introduced? Do you think they are a positive or negative development?

It has been pointed out that several nations have introduced laws and legislation to restrict local workers’ working hours. Personally, I opine that the authorities have recognized the drawbacks of work overtime is the reason for this circumstance, and this is a positive trend as it can bring countless benefits to companies. First of all, the raising of awareness of work for long hours is the reason why governments passed laws. If employees always work beyond predominated hours, they do not have leisure time to do exercise and have enough time to sleep, which causes extreme physical detriments to workers. For instance, the Chinese government has introduced regulations related to the limitation of working hours. An officer of local government states that they carried out a lot of research and collected data in terms of the health situation of professionals. A massive percentage of evidence showed that most office-workers are suffering from health issues such as depression or insomnia, which promotes them to introduce laws to outlaw workers to finish their job during a limited time period. Furthermore, limiting operating hours has economic benefits to organizations. This is because staff have a moderate proportion of time to rest and relax, so they no longer take several leaves sick and have a high level of enthusiasm and concentration towards their tasks, thus making companies more productive and profitable. For example, a vast majority of accounting firms in Australia obey the laws and regulate their employees to work 8 hours per day. The managers of those firms state that after conducting this regulation, they realized their employees are full of energy to fulfil their daily tasks with a higher quality, which increases firms’ profitability and productivity. In conclusion, although people may vary in their ideas about the cause of restriction of working hours and the effects of this situation, I am of the opinion that political leaders have acknowledged the seriousness of staying back is the reason for it, and this positive development brings advantages to corporations.