In Britain when someone gets old, they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

In most of the western world, the older generations are made to live in assisted living facilities where there are nurses to constantly look after them. The fact that they are also surrounded by other elderly folks also helps make them feel comfortable, as they are amongst people who know what they are going through. However, the funding of these accommodations is something of a great debate, because some feel the government should pay for this, whilst others believe it should be the families who make the payment. On the other hand, I feel that both parties should be involved in funding this equally. My reasoning will be substantiated in the course of this essay. First and foremost, I feel the ministry should be more involved in financing half of the payments to these facilities because; it can act as a gesture to the older individuals. Moreover, if the administration is involved there will be less likely that such facilities to take advantage and embezzle their tenant's funds. The reason why it acts as a gesture is that; they decided to stick it out in their own country rather than escaping to the glamour of wealthier nations. This in turn has helped the economy of their nation to grow. Furthermore, in such,homes the occupant's finances are put into the hands of those running the homes, which can give rise to misappropriation of funds. Alternately some may believe that the families need to bear the cost because the regime's funds need to be utilized for the benefit of those who are currently part of the existing working force. That there is no room for sentimentality. Simply put, if the authority is not investing in the youth of the nation, they will move to kingdom's which will. In conclusion, I believe that it is important that both the leadership and families contribute equally for the housing of the elderly, as I feel that they made their contributions through the years of service and it is time for them to give back. In addition, if both parties fund this housing equally it will help families of lower incomes to take care of their elder folk.