The tendency of human beings to copy one another is shown in the popularity of areas such as fashion and consumer goods. To what extent do you agree?

Some have suggested that the popularity of specific consumer trends evidences a natural human inclination to copy one another. In my opinion, this is largely true though there are other potential practical explanations. Those who oppose this belief argue that imitation is rooted in reason. There are legitimate practical justifications to follow others. If a product such as a new smartphone is popular, then that is evidence it is a quality item. In this way, people are copying on a rational basis, not out of an inborn human desire. Moreover, popular items are likely cheaper and more widely available. A trendy pair of jeans made by Levy’s, for instance, is produced in the millions and stocked in department stores around the world. Individuals will encounter these jeans frequently and their purchase is simply a matter of convenience. However, I believe that copying others satisfies a deeper human drive to feel part of a larger group. The natural tendency of humans to congregate also compels them to adopt similar customs and habits. Imitation shows that there is commonality and eases the fear of otherness. For example, Apple has built their brand based on the power of an inclusive community of like-minded users. By joining such an ecosystem, people are no longer isolated and feel part of a larger whole that elevates their individual self-esteem and protects them from other groups. Humans do not now face significant physical threats from nature but the desire to copy one another in order to join a modern-day tribe persists in contemporary consumer culture. In conclusion, the popularity of similar consumer items illustrates an underlying need in humans to imitate one another in order to feel safe and accepted. This is not necessarily a negative insight though it should be managed carefully by individuals.