Some international companies are very powerful now and many people believe that it is a negative development. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your reasons and relevant examples.

Nowdays, multinational corporations become more and more powerful and able to influence on global markets and even politics. It could be both positive and negative for an economic and a social development. For my point of view, disadvantages outweigh the advantages by now. In the modern world of globalization, we all witness how big companies can displace or merge their business rivals, resulting in reduction in competition. Undoubtedly, large businesses can optimize their costs more effectively and offer better prices. But in the end, when there will be no over options for consumers, monopolies can put any price they want and use this situation for unlimited enrichment. For example, we can observe the severe energy crisis in Europe, caused by refusal to increase deliveries by the Gasprom company as the major source of gas. Therefore, at the moment Gas price in Europe has renewed its historical maximum. Another serios threat comes from Social Media giants, which are already controlling the information and the media content worldwide. Private companies have become a part of state propaganda or sometimes independent political power that manipulates a crowd. For instance, such corporations as Facebook, YouTube and Twitter have banned the former president Trump forever, thus preventing him from an opportunity to communicate with his supporters. So now he has very limited capabilities to run his next president’s campaign, meanwhile as many as half of the americans voted for him in 2020. In conclusion, I strongly believe that the growth of huge international enterprises has the dramatic negative impact on economy and society all over the world because of monopolization of production, services and information.