The society would benefit from a ban on all forms of advertising because it serves no useful purpose, and can even be damaging. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a view that societies are inundated with advertisements that seem to be merely useless and even pose other hazards. In my opinion, although advertisements might be unuseful, they can bring some advantages to people. On the one hand, one of the most negative impacts of ads is triggering a wasteful spending habit. For example, the ultimate aim of advertising is to stimulate potential customers to buy products and services. It is no doubt that most customers could be persuaded by attractive displays consisting of stunning pictures, rich content, special effects. They, then, can impulsively try to afford items they have no need of. Consequently, This wastes money, time, which leads to overconsumption trends due to the existence of advertising. On the other hand, the obvious benefits from advertisements cannot be denied. Firstly, this media bombardment could help consumers make wise purchase decisions. This is because they can search and compare the prices of commodities before shopping or generally look for the cheapest one of similar quality. Secondly, the displays are posted not only for commercial purposes but also for public ones. The reason behind this is some commercials, also called public service announcements, help inform the general population of social issues, such as blood donation, environmental protection. As a result, this will contribute to better social awareness. In conclusion, people obviously obtain advantages of advertising from both economical and public sector. So, it might be unwise to prohibit all forms of commercial promotion because of some perceived disadvantages or irritations.