construct roads or subway lines to mitigate traffic congestion?

Traffic woes are the most common problem noticed in developed countries.A lot of efforts are undertaken to improve the situation.Some suggest that constructing more lanes makes it easier for commuters to drive,whereas there are others who feel that subway lines are the need of the hour.In my opinion,planning side lanes and over-head bridges allow more vehicles to travel at the same time,without causing any traffic jam. Road congestion is the worst nightmare of the urban population,directly affecting their mental health.Many suggest the construction of the subway lines is the answer to the problem.But,it requires a lot of planning and money, and this usually does not work out on the already existing city centre roads. For instance,according to the recent survey, traffic is mostly heavy around the business park areas,making it really tough to plan an underground tunnel. Furthermore,disturbances caused during the work affects the businesses,making the citizens unhappy. Hence,sometimes it is not really feasible to construct it, as it may affect the livelihood of the citizens. conversely,more roads should be planned in the form of by-lanes or overhead flyovers.Building a flyover gives the option to the drivers to either take the road or go on the bridge,improving the transit condition. Moreover,not much planning and funds are required to build it. For example,the newly constructed fly-over in front of the Google office decreased the traffic levels to an all-time low,making the staff happy and productive. To conclude, traffic problems are the most common problem of the urban world.While subway lines do help in diverting the traffic,it is the fact that a lot of planning and investment goes into it.As a contradiction,more by-lanes and flyover bridges are the better options to divert the traffic.