A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

According to the history of civilized humans, it can be seen that people mostly believed in moral values like loyalty, honor, and courage. While nowadays, in the modern world, we are witness that people's worth is determined by their bank account or position in society. This essay will examine which criteria are the best for evaluating a person's worth. On the one hand, we cannot evaluate a person's worth who lives in the modern age according to 15th-century principles. To illustrate, if you want to marry a man, it is not rational to say you find him suitable because he is a loyal servant of the Theron! Instead, you will ask if he can afford the cost of living or if he genuinely believes in gender equality? Therefore, numerous old-fashioned values possess no credit anymore. On the other hand, we cannot claim that all old values are obsolete and invalid. Our ancestors reached some of those beliefs based on their ken of human nature, so we cannot ignore them. For instance, you have made a friendship with a rich man to benefit his fortune in a time of need. But when a time comes, he will fail you entirely. On this occasion, you have forgotten to check if he has the feeling of sympathy for others. To sum up, some arguments declare that nowadays we should judge people with new values and put old ones aside, while I firmly believe these arguments do not stand for scrutiny. As we can see, any of them are not valid alone; nevertheless, the combination of old and new criteria will possess the best outcome.