Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

In recent years, there has been a debate over conduction of various international sports competitions across the globe. While some people tend to believe that sport has no borders, and it is one of the means to improve an image of a certain state, others suggest that it gives a favour to certain countries that violate human rights, and, therefore, pose a threat to the international development. In this essay I will discuss why it is important to ensure that sport is not a part of the global politics and provide a list of the arguments that show why certain actors are interested to conduct sporting events in states that do not follow some provisions of the global humanitarian law. The fact that the Russian Federation was chosen to be the host of the FIFA World Cup 2018 sparked many speculations in the Western world since Russian sportsmen are being constantly blamed to use prohibited drugs in sports competitions. Indeed, there has been some evidence of doping usage by some Russian athletes in the previous years, but the international community put too much attention on the issue, making almost every person who is doing sports in Russia to be a user of a certain restricted medicament. The World Cup in Russia, however, proved everyone to be wrong since the Russian Government managed to organise the event on the highest level, meeting the requirements of the various international sports organisations, while the attendees of the competition were so surprised to find that everything that was written in the newspapers was a myth. This could serve as an example that mass-media and some states are interested to discredit certain countries that do not want to follow the will of others. Nevertheless, we should not forget that there are specific countries in the world that do not share the values of the Western civilization, and, that is why, they just do not make any sense to them. For example, the next FIFA World Cup is planned to be carried out in Qatar that is believed to be constantly violating the rights of women and minorities. Indeed, for some representatives of the international organisations that do want to promote the humanitarian law in the world, this seems to be a nonsense since everyone should follow the same rules. However, it is vital to remember that not everything is strictly managed in the world by the treaties, and states or organisations, in this case Qatar that has a significant number of oil reserves, could manage to ensure their participation in various international events by paying the certain actors. In conclusion, I do believe that the international community should ensure the equal and proper participation of every state in the sports competition since it is one of the means to improve the relations between the nations. However, the corruption methods that, sometimes, guarantee a state to be the host of an international event, should be totally restricted since they destroy the spirit of sports.