Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The controversy about the degree of importance of science and technology compared to other university subjects has been debatable. Some people believe that curriculum should only consist of future-oriented subjects including scientific disciplines while others believe that learners should have the freedom to study their interests. This essay will provide an explanation for both views and support the latter opinion. On the one hand, the need of people towards technology will be multiple in the future life. People will engage more in the hi-tech environment and take a role from user to creator which require a specific skill. Moreover, the demand for skilled people in science are increasing over decades. Therefore, the university should emphasize students to learn science because it is a promising subject. If they have tech-literacy they will gain more chances to get a better job. For example, it is common, in Indonesia for employers to put a potential employee who has skill in computation in the first place of shortlisted candidates. on the other hand, although science and technology are essential, each student has specific preferences. if a student is forced to learn a subject which is out of their interests they will not succeed either. Besides, the social disciplines such as art and history give a different value to life. For instance, painting will make the world more colourful while studying history give another perspective for people in judging events. In conclusion, the science subjects are profound but I believe students have their own intelligence and interest that should be developed throughout the university learning process because the world will not balance without social subjects.