In many countries, working women can take a few months of maternity leave after childbirth. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The notable questions raised by maternity leave of employed females in some countries are subject to much debate. As far as the mother’s health and the baby care are concerned, I personally consider it is a positive phenomenon, although they may face stress and anxiety when they return to the workplace. First and foremost, maternity leave can benefit mothers by providing time to recover from childbirth. It is unsuitable for women to turn back to work as soon as delivering, considering their weak physical conditions. To be specific, mothers after childbirth are more likely to be attacked by some diseases as a result of suffering from delivering just now, regarding as a kind of surgery, and undoubtedly they need to be taken care carefully. In addition, the long vacation for mothers promotes them to spend more time with their newborn babies. It is beneficial for working women to adapt to their new roles as mothers. Simultaneously, mothers could pay more attention on their little babies rather than heavy work. For instance, maternity leave gives opportunities to employed females to better feed their little babies and this is generally considered beneficial for babies’ health. What’s more, it is no doubt that the maternity leave has a positive effect on society in the long run. Without maternity vacations, considering their health and energy, they may do not have a strong willing of pregnancy or delay motherhoods. Then, the negative impacts that stem from low birth rate could provoke dire consequences for societies. In conclusion, maternity leave is a positive development for both individuals and the society, although working women need to fit the switch of different roles when they return workplace.