Many university students live with their families, while others live away from home because their universities are in different places. What are the advantages and disadvantages of both situations?

Many students enjoy living with their parents even when attending university, while others prefer moving out and living near their institutions. I believe both options have their benefits and drawbacks. On the one hand, some individuals choose to stay with family for one primary reason. These could devote quality time to their study and acquire a good grasp of specialised knowledge because they are free of distractions associated with financial problems, such as the rent for accommodation. However, the major disadvantage of this approach is that living in their comfort zones prevents children from developing practical skills, which would stand them in good stead later in life. In many Asian countries, employers often complain about their new workers who have no soft skills, let alone working experience. On the other hand, numerous students are in favour of living away from home due to the conducive learning environment they can enjoy while staying with classmates or roommates. Moreover, during this period, youngsters would encounter many hardships and learn to tackle the vicissitudes of life. Nevertheless, these individuals may be concerned about their financial issues, so they spend time working as waiters and delivery drivers, which divert their attention from the study. For example, in Vietnam, many young adults begin working in their university years, then fall behind with their studies, leading to dropping out of college, which is a waste of time and money. In conclusion, each of these opinions has its own positive and negative aspects, students and parents should take into consideration and plan appropriately before making a decision.