Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Some people opt to start their own business, instead of working for someone else. People who have start-up businesses are those who like to challenge themselves. However, the downside of start-up is that they might not have a regular income. Ambitious people prefer taking on an adventurous journey rather than being a salaryman. They often want to try something new that is not yet available in the market. Although being self-employ does not guarantee a regular income, they would have great job satisfaction which is one of the crucial aspects to keep the business going. For instance, my brother proposed an idea to his company but his idea was rejected, as the company felt that it would not make any profit. However, as he believed that his idea would greatly benefit people and would be profitable in the market, he established his own business. The pitfall of a start-up business is that, they might not earn on a regular basis. This could be bad especially if the entrepreneur does not have a strong financial background and yet, needs to support the family. Even though this could seem like a small pain point, this could actually lead to mishaps. For example, a friend of mine decided to start a company using a bank loan. Unfortunately, his business did not do well and he struggled to pay back the bank loan. He was too stressed to the extent that he shed a few pounds within a few weeks. In conclusion, more and more people, especially the motivated, young people, are setting off to have their own companies. However, they should keep in mind some negative aspects of immature businesses, such as not getting a regular profit for a long period, so that they can be mentally prepared for such events.